This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Which is more important for a bulky Pokemon? HP or Defense and Sp. Def? (EVs)

#1The_Mod_Is_FairPosted 1/25/2011 12:27:43 PM
I'm not really good at deciding EVs by myself unless it's 252-Atk/252-Spd/4-other. But when the EV spread is different, I'm not sure what to do. Could someone please provide a good example of a good EV spread using only Pokemon from 1-493? I'd really appreciate some help.
---

#2LexifoxPosted 1/25/2011 12:30:46 PM
It really depends on the base stats. Some Pokemon benefit more from putting EVs into their defenses (Blissey almost always runs 252 Defense EVs, as an example).
---
"Murder of the living is tragic, but murder of the idea is unforgivable." - Janus, speaker of the synod
#3The_Mod_Is_Fair(Topic Creator)Posted 1/25/2011 12:34:45 PM
Why would anyone put EVs in Blissey's defense? It's already low. Isn't that like putting EVs in Shuckle's attack/speed?
---

#4PheonixFFire7Posted 1/25/2011 12:38:30 PM
It all depends on what hits you're trying to survive. Putting an arbitrary amount of bulk onto a Pokemon isn't really that useful. Think about what threats you intend to use this Pokemon against and what moves you expect to endure and run them through damage calculators. Adjust the EV's to see what combination will mitigate those attacks best, but also take into consideration hazards, healing, and common boosts you're opponent will have through items, boosts, abilities, etc.

Slapping 252/252 on something is only really viable if that Pokemon has no reason to have points in any other stat, or can't afford a single lost point in those particular stats (as with Speed). Anyway, I would post an example, but I don't really pay competitively so I don't know of any off hand.
#5Chaos GenesisPosted 1/25/2011 12:38:35 PM