This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

So, how/why are Psychic-types super-effective against Poison-types?

#1ColebyPosted 1/28/2012 7:01:52 PM
Topic.

I mean, I'm not complaining at all; I'm a Psychic-type trainer, afterall. It's just that most of the other super-effective/weak against type match-ups make sense in reality, for the most part (i.e. water dowses fire [Water > Fire], bugs eat grass [Bug > Grass], fighters aren't afraid of the dark [Fighting > Dark], etc.).

And so I've always wondered why Poison-types are weak to Psychic-types. It never made any sense to me. What's the reasoning behind it, if any? The other types dealing with Psychic-types are logical--the three most common phobias are bugs, ghosts, and the dark (Psychic's weakness), while you have the old 'brains are better than brawns' motif (Psychic > Fighting). But with Poison...Um, the mind heals all wounds, maybe? Well, maybe not...

In any case, it'd be nice if the Psychics had one more type to be super-effective against, to balance its three weaknesses. I would propose Normal-types, with the idea being that super geniuses > average people, but then again, the Normals already have no advantages other than be unaffected by Ghosts. Maybe it can be another WTF random like with Poison...so perhaps Rock or Dragon?
---
This is a scratch-and-sniff sig. Go ahead, try it!
"Coleby your sig made me break my monitor" ~ kill3r619
#2Whetstone_DudePosted 1/28/2012 7:02:57 PM
I guess it's because they can read minds, and know exactly how they're going to be poisoned, I guess?
---
http://www.abload.de/img/mehaters5uze.gif
http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f68/strups/ORANGEMOCHAFRAPPUCCINODA2.gif
#3Dr_ProfessorPosted 1/28/2012 7:06:05 PM
Poison was overpowered. It needed another weakness. And it's not like anyone uses Psychic-types anyway.
---
Proud member of the Smogang since about ten minutes ago.
#4warnerbromanPosted 1/28/2012 7:13:57 PM