Can I make my character a...?

#1mumpsy21Posted 3/17/2012 1:38:36 AM
A deadly mage-assassin? I'm still new, but the combat system is pretty interesting as it lets you combine different attacks to a variety of combos. I was just wondering if a Ninja-mage type would be a feasible build. I'm still new to the game, so I was wondering if I could go on this path.
---
Nier is best gaming I've had since KH and FFX. One that breaks my heart yet keeps it warm and hopeful and happy. We definitely need more games like this.
#2AzuricPawPosted 3/17/2012 2:25:11 AM

You definitely can! Thats what Im doing XD 

#3bionicman_3090Posted 3/17/2012 4:31:57 AM
You can go with the Finesse/Sorcery route and use Faeblades and Chakrams as your primary and secondary weapons. I've done this and it works great. Faeblades allow you to stealth-kill someone if you want as well as giving you a 360-degree angle of attack, not to mention amazing speed. Chakrams give you medium range attacks and is great for defensive combos as a power attack hits multiple opponents surrounding you.

Then you have abilities like Smoke Bomb which is Ninja'esque in a way that makes you disappear in front of others and plenty of magic spells in the Sorcery skill-tree that deal massive AoE damage. The dodge gets replaced by Blink, which is a short teleport skill that at times may seem cumbersome but once you learn how to time it, you can teleport through the opponents' bodies and get on their backside while dealing poison DoT with it.
---
"Take your best shot, Flatlander woman". JC Denton.
#4mumpsy21(Topic Creator)Posted 3/18/2012 8:40:36 AM
I actually started that route before making this topic, and it's pretty successful, it is awesome being a mage + silent killer, just plain awesome.
---
Nier is best gaming I've had since KH and FFX. One that breaks my heart yet keeps it warm and hopeful and happy. We definitely need more games like this.
#5DoctorDoom80Posted 3/18/2012 8:44:45 AM(edited)
mumpsy21 posted...