IF HVS were to do a beta launch, this is how they should do it.

#1CHAINMAILLEKIDPosted 8/27/2010 11:10:14 PM
Ok, So I just a few weeks ago launched my own Beta for something I've been working on for a couple years. No, its not software. Its actually a longboard truck, if anybody knows what that is :p

Anyway, so I'm a designer, I'm in charge of the Youtube/Facebook viral marketing, And I also basically do what HVS Tony does here, Except I do it on longboard forums. blah blah blah, whatever.

Anyway, Based on our philosophy, and my experience...
What I suggest for HVS is that if they do a beta run, It needs to be limited. VERY limited.
Maybe 350 people. A small enough number that HVS can stay in close contact, and retain a lot of control.
To sign up for the beta, I'd make people fill out an application form. A BIG, LONG, ANNOYING application form. make it take 15 min+ Include questions pertaining to who they play with, Their Youtube channel ( if any ) what gaming communities they participate in ( if any ) etc.
And then lastly. Once accepted, Possibly charge for the beta download ticket, $20 or something ( refundable if they leave the beta program, OR it would go towards a pre-order if they stayed. )

Now the idea would be...
-The limited number of people accepted makes the beta more appealing, The goal here would to hype the beta ALMOST like a contest.
-The screening, AND the money would both help discourage people who are not totally enthusiastic about the game, and not going to experience/relay negative impressions.
-The questions would help determine which people have the potential to spread the word Most about Con2. They could select people who: Go to forums, and are active participants, Have active following on YT, Actually makes videos regularly, ETC!
-So, these people, ALL of them with resources, Being such a small group... HVS would have the control to organize/influence them, and actually get the word out.