Is a gold solo ever easy?

#1phishfacePosted 12/12/2013 2:20:20 PM
Reason I ask is that I'm getting Dark Souls soon, and wanted to get an idea of just how difficult it is (having heard all the usual stuff). So I posted a question on the Dark Souls board, asking for comparisons to ME3 mp difficulty: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/608635-dark-souls/68075767

Some people seem to be saying that DS is like one long gold solo, which scares the bejeesus out of me. Some also suggest that gold solos are easy. I'm not so sure - I know that I could not survive 99/100 gold solo attempts. Then again, I'm not very good at it.

Also, I realise that all this is all a bit vague and probably there's no good way to compare the two, I should just play DS and find out, etc, but there it is.
---
Gamertag: puremintoil
#2MetaIGearRexPosted 12/12/2013 2:27:05 PM
Dark Souls isnt that bad, aside from a few spots. Its easy if you play a sword and shield build and just keep your shield up.

Its hard for me to compare difficulties but my first thought is that a gold solo is harder than most parts of Dark Souls.
---
"It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the game you've been playing all your life." - Mickey Mantle
#3SolidDroidPosted 12/12/2013 2:41:24 PM
Gold solo is much harder than dark souls
---
Gamertag- DROlD
(I is a L)
#4TimeShinigamiPosted 12/12/2013 2:45:44 PM
Yes.

My first was 33 mins against Cerberus on Giant with a Pihrana GI.

Also, Dark Souls is overhyped by kiddies who don't recall the classic era of gaming. Yeah, its real hard. Oh, wait, you have save points? Oh, well, then...
---
Not changing this sig until the Detroit Lions win the Super Bowl.
GT- ShinigamiOfTime
#5DethuliPosted 12/12/2013 2:48:32 PM
Gold solo can be really easy or really difficult depending on your skill level, your kit, and objectives. I believe most people could easily solo gold with a Kroguard+Reegar and level 3 equipment/ammo, but be hard pressed to last long with a TSol or QFE.
---