The 3d cameras look too close...?

#1WetterdewPosted 6/14/2010 2:52:15 PM
Just based on the drawings we've seen so far (yes, I know they're not confirmed) the 3d cameras look like they're only a centimeter or two apart. I'm no expert on 3d technology, but isn't that kind of close together to get a strong 3d effect unless the object you want to appear 3d is right up close to the 3DS?
---
Everything is a journey. Explore ALL.
#2JetPilotPosted 6/14/2010 4:09:52 PM
So you're basing this complaint on a picture some kid photoshopped in his spare time? LOL
---
Chuck Norris CAN believe it's not butter.
#3Wetterdew(Topic Creator)Posted 6/14/2010 4:43:05 PM
Yes, I am. And I'd like to know if I'm correct in what I'm saying, please?
---
#4JetPilotPosted 6/14/2010 5:36:03 PM
Who knows. Send an e-mail to the kid who did the photoshop, after all, he's the one that made it up. If you're worried that his picture isn't right, feel free to make your own picture.
---
#5Wetterdew(Topic Creator)Posted 6/14/2010 6:19:42 PM
You're missing the point entirely. Assuming that the drawing is correct, that the cameras are that close together, wouldn't objects have to be closer to the camera to get the same 3d effect?
---
#6JetPilotPosted 6/14/2010 6:27:34 PM
Why would you assume the drawing is correct? That's where your question makes no sense whatsoever.

Remember the DS mockups from back in 2004? If not, here's a refresher:

http://www.weblogsinc.com/common/images/6843841173884616.JPG?0.5792943825122632

Why are there only two face buttons? Why is the top screen so tall? Why? Because it's a made up drawing just like the drawings you are looking at.

Maybe this is the 3DS:

http://www.blogcdn.com/www.joystiq.com/media/2008/11/nintendo.ds.mockup.490w.jpg
---
#7Wetterdew(Topic Creator)Posted 6/14/2010 6:58:50 PM
Why would you assume the drawing is correct? That's where your question makes no sense whatsoever.

Remember the DS mockups from back in 2004? If not, here's a refresher: