Any master gamers here?

#1EvonfirePosted 12/4/2012 10:07:57 AM
"The emerging scientific picture is that 10,000 hours of practice is required to achieve the level of mastery associated with being a world-class expert in anything. In study after study, of composers, basketball players, fiction writers, ice skaters, concert pianists, chess players, master criminals, and what have you, this number comes up again and again."

This thread has no point other then me realizing this morning that I have been playing video games for 20 years now....20... I was born in 1985.. The original NES came out in 1985, the SNES in 1991, so I was around 6 when I began this hobby. Now I'm 27 and have never grown tired of video games. Just now I'm rekindling my love for Nintendo handhelds with the 3ds after missing the DS/PSP generation. It's funny, I never learned an instrument, never perfected a sport, but by definition im a master gamer. Where is my glory and recognition from society :p

Sorry for such a pointless thread lol.
---
I'm a 10+ year GameFaqs lurker. Friend Code: 3668-7314-6427.
#2JoeHigashi2000Posted 12/4/2012 10:10:55 AM
Yeah.
---
GT: J03HIG45HI PSN PS3/Vita: JoeHigashi2000 3DS FC: 0817-3804-7210
#3Tempest717Posted 12/4/2012 10:11:30 AM
Not sure you can really be a master gamer, each game (or genre at least) requires different skills....or even none at all depending on the game. Not saying you can't master a single game like a fighter or FPS or other competitive multiplayer game
---
Official Cherry Garcia of the IDF
Official Lion Tamer of the NDF
#4TaaronPosted 12/4/2012 10:16:12 AM(edited)
In my 25+ years of gaming, I am confident I have clocked way more than 10,000 hours, however I would not consider myself a master as the games I play are quite widespread. That and I never actually practice, I just play to have fun.
---
Nothing wrong with a 40 year old man watching anime intended for 5 year old Japanese girls.
#5rizsparkyPosted 12/4/2012 10:38:00 AM
Im a Master Bator.