Just tried the Monster Hunter 3 demo

#11crazymerio(Topic Creator)Posted 3/3/2013 1:20:49 AM
PokeMaster posted...
crazymerio posted...
How complicated do the items in this game get? and the strategy elements...I guess?

There were quite a few items just in that demo.

Items don't really get that complicated. You got some basic item foraging/combining and armor/weaponcraft.

(If you've played any MMO then you're basically set in regards to this.)

As for strategy.. personally I would consider it to be 2-stages
[note: i'm no expert on the game, all this is my personal opinion, etc etc]

I'd consider the first part of statergy and planning to be what items you choose to take with you on a quest. Really isn't much to it, and you get better the more you progress.

The second part of strategy would be during the quest. You need to:

-Learn and know about the monster and attack patterns
-Learn and know the environment (for item foraging, and if you need to run away, location of important features, etc)
-When and where to safely heal, cook, etc
-Placing baits, traps and luring the monster to those locations.

There isn't really much in that sense, but it is quite deep. It is easy to pick up once you get into it though.

Yeah...I don't think I would like this.... Thank all of you guys for the information though. I've never liked MMOs, RPGs or Strategy games at all so I don't think I would like a lot of this.

It seemed more action oriented but I don't think I could adjust to all of that...
---
3DS FC: 4425-1519-7421
#12lambchipsPosted 3/3/2013 1:45:18 AM
crazymerio posted...
do you have a small opinion/answer on the items or strategy elements question above? If not thats fine. I just don't think I would like this game if there is a lot of strategy to it.

general monster hunter tips
- dont chase the monster, wait till it charges at you and jump to a side then counter attack... otherwise you'll be chasing all day