#1Devilman_AmonPosted 2/8/2014 6:02:24 PM
Couldn't this be a viable possibility?

Seems like a no brainer

Or is it harder to port than I imagine?
---
(\__/)
(='.'=)
#2dizanimatorPosted 2/8/2014 6:35:39 PM
I'm not sure how hard it would be. I'm pretty sure the 3DS is powerful enough, but the Virtual Boy had a different button layout on the controller (as far as I remember) and depending on how many buttons were used that might be an issue. Maybe some could end up mapped to the touchscreen?
I think it could be a good idea, but I think there should at least be the option to use black and white instead of black and red for the display.
#38bitgenPosted 2/8/2014 6:51:08 PM
Not sure if it could be done i'm not a programmer and would there be enough games worth porting over.
#4owyn_merrilinPosted 2/8/2014 7:02:08 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-lVYmr6H-UOA/T-oX2eTjS5I/AAAAAAAAKig/kbGsbbY7bA4/s1600/Virtual_Boy_controller.jpg

Looks like it had a second D-pad, one for each hand. Depending on how that was used, the controls may or may not be possible to map to the vanilla 3DS, although a circle pad pro could do it for sure. There's enough buttons thanks to the (built in, not pro) circle pad, but if you actually needed both D-pads at once for anything, in addition to the buttons, it might make things awkward.

The other question is, how were the graphics handled internally? The display used tricks with mirrors and reflections. Would it be possible to use emulation and still have it output in 3D, or would they need to go back to the source code and totally revamp it?
#5Devilman_Amon(Topic Creator)Posted 2/8/2014 7:05:11 PM
No idea

Just know that I saw a review on the system on YT and a guy uploaded an emulated copy of one of the games in 3D so you could 'sorta' get the feeling of what it looks like. You would need the red & blue 3D glasses...
---
(\__/)
(='.'=)
#6owyn_merrilinPosted 2/8/2014 7:10:14 PM
Devilman_Amon posted...
No idea