What are Private Messages?
What do I need to do to be able to send and receive Private Messages?
How do I read my Private Messages?
How can I send a Private Message to another GameFAQs user?
To send a PM to another user, you can either visit your Inbox (by clicking the New Messages link at the top of every page), then click the "Send New Message" link, or view another user's profile on the message boards and click the "PM this User" button to fill in their name automatically.
Each message you send needs a recipient (the Message Board name of the user you want to send a message to), a subject line, and a message. You will receive a warning message if you've forgotten any of these, or if your recipient is blocking PMs from you.
Can I send Private Messages to users of other sites?
Are there any limits on how many Private Messages I can send?
Yes. Since the system is brand new, there are strict limits in place while capacity is gauged. Level 10 and 11 users can only send 5 messages per any 24 hour period - 15: 10, 20: 20, 25: 25, 30: 50, 31: 100, 32: 150, and users level 33 and higher can send 200 messages per day.
Additionally, you can only send three unread messages to a single user at any time. This is done to prevent inbox flooding. You should absolutely not use multiple accounts to send messages to a single recipient to get around this limit - doing so is considered Harassment, and your accounts may be banned for it.
Are there any limits on how many Private Messages I can receive?
Yes. Since the system is brand new, there are strict limits in place while capacity is gauged. The Inbox limits are 50, 100, 150, 250, and 500 messages for level 10/11, 20, 25, 30, and higher level users respectively.
Once your Inbox is full, you will no longer be able to send new Private Messages, but you can still receive them. If your Inbox hits double the number of allowed messages, you will no longer be able to receive any non-system messages.
How long are Private Messages stored?
How do I delete my Private Messages?
What can I do about someone sending me offensive or harassing messages?
How can I block users from sending me Private Messages?
Once a user has sent you a private message and you no longer want to receive messages from them, simply click the Report Abuse button on the message page and choose the length of the block you wish to apply. You can unblock users on the Settings page.
Additionally, if you wish to block messages from all users at a certain level or lower (to stop messages from new accounts, for example), or even to block all messages from users who are not your friends, you can make that change on your Settings page as well.
Who can see my Private Messages?
Under normal circumstances, only the sender and receiver of a Private Message can view its contents. Moderators can only view messages that are reported as abusive, but otherwise they have no access to your messages, or any non-reported messages you have received or sent.