What are Friend Lists on GameFAQs?

Friend Lists allow you to keep track of users you know and like (or dislike) on the message boards. When you add Follow a user, you can highlight their message board posts, and if they Follow you back, you will become Friends. You can also Tag users to remind yourself of information about them, or Ignore them altogether. The Friend system is available to all Message Board users Level 15 and higher.

How can I access my Friend Lists?

Under My Account, which you can access by clicking your name at the top of any page, you can click the Friends link to jump right into your Friend Lists.

What are the different lists of users under My Friends?

  • Friends are users who you are Following, and who have decided to Follow you back. If another user is your Friend, you can often view additional information in their profiles, depending on their settings.
  • Following are users you have chosen to Follow, but they are not Following you back. Their posts will be highlighted on the message boards when you view them. If they Follow you back, you will become Friends.
  • Followers are users who are following your posts on the message boards. You will become Friends with them if you Follow them back.
  • Tagged users are those you have assigned a Tag to. Tags can be up to 30 characters in length, and are displayed next to their user name when they post on the message boards.
  • Ignored are a list of users you are ignoring. You will not see their posts on the message boards, although they may show up in the Most Popular Topics lists on the site, since those are not filtered through your Ignore list.

Is there a limit to how many Friends I can have?

You can Follow or be Friends with a maximum of 250 users combined. There is no maximum to how many users can Follow you.

How do I Follow or Ignore a user?

When a user posts on the message board, you can hover over their username to view a list of options, and select "Follow" or "Ignore". Alternately, you can Follow a user from their user profile page, or by manually typing in their name from any of the My Friends pages.

How do I Friend a user?

Friends are users who you are Following, and who are Following you back. You will automatically become Friends once you Follow each other, and you will stop being Friends when one of you stops Following the other.

You can instantly become Friends with any user who is Following you by clicking the green "Follow/Friend" icon on your Followers list.

How do I Tag a user?

When a user posts on the message board, you can click their username to visit their profile page, and use the form on their page to add a Tag. You can also Tag a user by manually typing in their name from any of the My Friends pages.

How do I stop someone from Following me?

You cannot block someone from Following you (which highlights your posts), but unless you Follow them back they cannot find out any additional information about you that you are not already sharing with the public.

If you feel someone is Following your posts for the purposes of harassment, you should report any posts they make by clicking the "report" link after their post.

Can other people see my Friend Lists?

No other users (including moderators) can see your friend lists, although the people who you have Followed lists can see that you have done so, and can Follow you back to become Friends. Users you are Ignoring are not informed that you are ignoring them, and users you Tag cannot see that you have tagged them or what Tag you have given them.

Beyond that, employees or contractors of CBS Interactive may have access to your private data (including private messages, personal profile, and friend lists) for researching abuse, legal, and site development issues. Please review our Privacy Policy for more information.