Detailed Reviews

Review TitlePostedAuthorRating
Square really outdid themselves, kupo!07/05/06Archmonk Iga
It's like Growing up with sports cars all your life, Losing your money and having to buy a Pinto.01/02/07Bigmac_what
One of the best games ever made.09/01/09Crocomire
Most Boring RPG I've Ever Played12/13/06JPtheGreat
An amazing game which moved me deeply.03/28/08Krauser86
Magnum Opus of the Numbered Series07/28/05Shotgunnova
One of the single most underrated and best games Squaresoft has ever produced09/27/10UltimaterializerX
Listen to me, this game is phenomenal in every respect...03/08/064589
The Start of Square's Fall10/10/14AlCurtis
A good effort but several pegs short of a true epic05/06/03Alecto
An amazing fusion of storytelling and gameplay09/11/08aNubOnRoids
After nine tries, they finally got it just right10/15/07Arkrex
Pretty good, but far too flawed to be anywhere near great.05/28/08Black_Seed
Final Fantasy IX offers both the best and worst of Final Fantasy.12/23/03Braben
Flawed battle system. Underwhelming story. Still fun.03/10/08Computerbug8
Corran450's Review Series Vol 5: Final Fantasy IX08/06/08corran450
Put the Fantasy back in Final Fantasy. Pure Fun08/13/04CTUAgentJackBauer
"Bring the series back to the roots"? Give me a break!06/22/03Cyril
Final Fantasy's Best12/11/08DanLionheart
"Back to the Roots" has never meant so much fun before04/13/07darthjulian
Let me take you back in time, rewind to ‘8906/19/03Denouement
Final Fantasy IX, adding to the ever growing saga.06/20/07DivideofNations
A Mostly Sunny Life06/29/06Draqq_Zyxorian
Room for improvement (reminds you of this tagline, doesn't it?)08/05/04EDDY555
Simply Beautiful01/02/06eolsen
An outstanding closure for the Playstation series of Square's beloved franchise.08/07/12Exodist
Sophisticated, poetic and romantic - the roots of Final Fantasy.11/29/04Fein
Not a perfect 10, but the best game in my collection04/24/06Foalku
Retro gaming may be Square's intention, but 'Final Fantasy IX' makes a much different impression...02/09/03Garbol Shora
Now, can anyone tell me what is a Qu?07/25/02Halron2
When I bought this game, I did not expect to get a muted movie...08/16/00Happy Matt
The crystal really is back...and boy is it a gem!04/06/09HollywoodRPG
If you love the others, more than likely you will love this.05/11/05Johnny Mercyside
Does FFIX still hold its own? Mostly.03/19/07JohnRobertLynch
Nothing beats a good ol' bit of RPG goodness......09/09/05Jonny Dangerous
"Oooh... soft" ~ Zidane Tribal12/13/04Leebo
Another brilliant title in the series04/12/10lighty691
An Innovative and Fitting Tribute to a Great Generation of Gaming.04/07/04lokey1
Old school Final Fantasy is Back, but is that a good thing?11/02/09LordShibas
Glittering prizes and endless compromises shatter the illusion of integrity09/29/03Mariner
Old school with new school.. is that good? You're Not Alone!11/25/00Master LL
The unsung hero of the franchise is full of charm and life.03/26/13nastynate3118
Charming and nearly impossible to put down, playing Final Fantasy IX is like getting to control a really good book02/24/10nintendosega
Fantastic Fantasy08/24/06Osafune2
I want mail kupo!04/30/04PRINCESSMAGICAL
I fell asleep while playing this boring game12/12/00RPG Critic
An under appreciated gem07/10/15rross46
Final Fantasy IX is truly perfect07/27/06ryliru
*Yawn* Been there, done that...01/18/01SCCAN85
The RPG of the Year, and beyond01/13/01SDJaY
A perfect mix of happy-go-lucky fantasy and serious character development07/15/09ShapeQuest
Final Fantasy IX is the bastard child of the Final Fantasy series that nobody seems to care about12/26/05Shivan Reincarnated
All in favor of marooning Steiner on a deserted island speak up. *Shneepshnop cautiously raises hand*06/03/04shneepshnop
The Best Final Fantasy. Beyond a Shadow of a Doubt09/12/13sirloinestake
Final Fantasy IX..Games simply just dont get better then this.04/11/03TBnumber81
Has it's weak points - but one hell of an amazing epic!06/21/05Thlayli_rah
Big heads are back, big-time!12/27/02Tom Clark
Back to the basics again boys. And sometimes that could be the best strategy01/02/07Tricky
The Crystals Are Back Once Again!!! - ysf's Review Of The Millennium!!!12/16/02YSF
The game I got my name from...12/15/02ZidaneTribal13
There's a reason why this is the best rated Final Fantasy game on Gamerankings.10/13/10Zylo the wolf
On Cloud Nine...06/06/11_Spin_Cycle_

Quick Reviews

Review TitlePostedAuthorRating
Legendary. That's what I expected. Oh so close. That's what I got.07/16/01Psycho Penguin
This game successfully returns the series to its roots.05/06/096xdandangp
Its strength lies in its characters06/19/13AnalyticalGamer
Wow. Square's series is now better than ever11/22/00bx4ever
A faithful review of the latest FF07/30/00Camelia
One memorable Piece by Square12/16/09chaosr1d3r
A great Final Fantasy game01/11/10Cymery
I realized my mistake...01/19/01Dark Templar
The Best Game Ever.07/07/08Demonic Rider
I have nothing to say...12/01/00DXie
Just an above average game but DEFINITELY BETTER than FFVIII!08/16/00Edwin.C
Sad that It's the last10/01/00erauqSsIdlroWehT
One of the best you'll play07/01/08ertfert
The weakest Final Fantasy since part V11/25/00Garan
And I thought Chrono Cross was good...11/18/00Haunter12O
an unforgettable gaming experience09/14/07HeavenlyRikku
It tries to do too much, but maybe that's a good thing.03/27/09japanzaman
The final good final fantasy game09/08/08KawaiiKitsu
A mix of old and new equals: Final Fantasy Throw Up01/05/01MCauthon
The Overlooked Installment of the Franchise03/24/08MDucks
A work of art.01/13/01Nemesis
Old school RPGers rejoice! This is probably Squaresoft's best effort on the PSX08/21/00PContaminator
Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a NEW number one RPG!09/04/00PWolfstien
*sigh* I liked the last one better...11/17/00Reservoir Dog
Don't take a 3-day leave off your work for this game11/13/00Ruk Chan
There's a good reason we skipped from 8 to 1010/06/08Saneasylum89
A good game, but it could have been a lot better.11/21/00Sardius
It's good. But not the Best11/10/00SLASHR4
Vintage Final Fantasy (some spoilers inside)01/29/09slyfan926
A very cute game plagued by a mature story with silly childish characters10/01/13SquallEX8
So what if it's not about an emo with a huge sword?10/06/08SuperGamecube64
I just want to say I spent $60 on importing the game and it's WORTH IT trust me!07/28/00Underdog
Just because it is a FF game, doesn't mean it's a HIT!08/10/00Valour
Final Fantasy IX brings back the Fantasy since VI11/22/10Wind_Fiend
Back to basics10/10/07wolverinefan

Got Your Own Opinion?

Submit a review and let your voice be heard.