This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

To atheists, what is your opinion on the Kalamazoo Cosmological Argument?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Religion
  3. To atheists, what is your opinion on the Kalamazoo Cosmological Argument?

User Info: Amerium

Amerium
3 months ago#1
Hey all. I'm new to GameFAQs, and I'm interested in learning others opinions on faith in God. I personally identify as an atheist, but I'm actually intrigued then by the KCA. It's certainly one of the better arguments regarding the existence of God.

I just wanted to hear what atheists think of this. Is the Kalam Cosmological Argument sound? Do you agree with the whole "something can't come from nothing" claim?
"Morality, a figment of one man's fancy, superfluous sans optimism"
-Ethan Joseph, Thanatophobia

User Info: JKFrost

JKFrost
3 months ago#2
The Kalam Cosmological Argument's biggest flaw is presuming that before the Big Bang, there was nothing. This is blatantly unproven and, frankly, untestable.

I admit energy and matter would have needed time and space in our material universe, but nobody knows what physics this "nothingness" adhered to prior to the expansion. It's illogical to draw the conclusion that something can't come from nothing, as that's currently only true in our material universe. And the worst part is, there's no proof there wasn't anything before the BB. There is, however, proof of a singularity prior to the beginning of time and space, where energy and matter existed on a quantum level, which didn't need any cause (especially not divine intervention). This is far more logical as a conclusion to the "first cause" issue than any God.