This Game Has Not Aged Well.

You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Dark Souls
  3. This Game Has Not Aged Well.

User Info: Drain_Bead

Drain_Bead
4 weeks ago#1
2 and 3 have spoiled us I guess. I started playing souls in 2009 with Demon's Souls in it's prime and loved every minute of it. I didn't think Dark Souls would deliver an experience better than Demon's Souls. Boy was I wrong.

People tend to forget, that when Dark Souls came out the community HATED it. It took an objective outlook and a lot of ignoring the forums to appreciate it for what it really was. I ended up having more fun and logged in more hours to Dark Souls than Demon's Souls.

Fast forward to today. I went back and played 1 for a little bit the past few weeks. I can't believe how bad this game is now. Its just awful.

I can see 3 aging this way, but not 2. Looks like 2 will be the timeless gem.
It's easier to fool someone than to convince someone they've been fooled.

User Info: Daimeion

Daimeion
4 weeks ago#2
Drain_Bead posted...
Fast forward to today. I went back and played 1 for a little bit the past few weeks. I can't believe how bad this game is now. Its just awful.

Care to elaborate more on that?

Drain_Bead
4 weeks ago#3
Daimeion posted...
Drain_Bead posted...

Care to elaborate more on that?

The framerate, the world, the mechanics, just everything really. The fashion souls is awful in 1 (Logan's Bighat notwithstanding). The magic in comparison to 2 and 3 is horribly lacking, poise is overly simplistic (still better than 3 though), only a couple of the boss fights stand out on their own, and the world just seems like this shell of a game.