Which equipment should "I" use/upgrade?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Dark Souls
  3. Which equipment should "I" use/upgrade?

User Info: MrDrSirLord1337

MrDrSirLord1337
4 months ago#1
Ok before I started playing, I'd seen about 5 minutes of my friend playing against a boss on NG+, and heard the "horror" stories about how hard dark souls is supposed to be. never had any desire to play the series before antil I saw the 1st and 2nd game pre owened for $20 and thought why not.

So far I've gone it blind without looking up any guides, have done quite well by just going every were I can and am enjoying this game.

I started as a knight with the master key and got the winged spear by chance when I refused to let those over leveled skeletons stand between me and some loot. Instantly fell in love with the winged spear, keeping the Astora Straight sword(that I got in a similar fashion to the spear)as back up for the enemies the spear wasn't too good against.

But now I've reached level 36 and are upto the Gaping Dragon. (And while exploring killed pinwheel, and did some other stuff I can't remember.) And my much loved weapons were to weak and required materials I didn't have to upgraded.

So now I'm currently using the halberd+5 with the Grass Crest shield+5 to easily dispatch most enemies with little trouble. With some Pyromancy and Miracles as back up.
But some of the enemies are getting to strong again and I need new weapons...again.
But this time I have enough materials to upgrade what ever I want, and are willing to farm for more if need be and go on a quest for a specific piece of gear.

Now for the actual qustion.
I need some good equipment that will last me through till NG+ provided I look after it
So what swords, sheilds and polearms should I be useing?