Some hearthfire questions

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
  3. Some hearthfire questions

User Info: hp_of_legend

hp_of_legend
1 month ago#1
Hi everyone, I just started playing Skyrim again after 4 years and I have some questions about the Hearthfire houses.

1. Can your wife/steward/housecarl be killed during a random attack on your house while you are not there?

2. If your wife/steward/housecarl is killed are you able to replace them?

3. Are the housecarls able to switch locations? Such as Rayya being able to move to Windstad instead of being at Lakeview? Because I am wanting to build my "main" house at Windstad and would like to have Rayya as my housecarl.

4. Are bedrooms a necessary wing needed to be built in order to have your kids live with you or are the beds on the second floor sufficient?

Thanks in advance everyone for your help!
If you believe in Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior and are 100% proud of it, put this in your signature.
3DS FC 3668-8552-6912 IGN Adam

User Info: rulerBob8

rulerBob8
1 month ago#2
1. Pretty sure you have to be there but yes, they can die
2. Only the steward
3. Only if you make them steward I think
4. Yes
OFFICIAL CAPTAIN BOOMERANG OF INJUSTICE 2 BOARD, OFFICIAL HAWKEYE OF MVC:I BOARD
Mark Hamill. Coincidence? I think not.

User Info: Divided_By_One

Divided_By_One
1 month ago#3
1. Unless you marry/hire someone Essential, then yes your spouse/steward can die. Spouses do become Protected, so enemies will try to spare them once they are low on health, but area effects, poisons, etc. might end up finishing them. Pretty sure housecarls are also Protected. Stewards... Maybe also protected?

2. I don't think either can be replaced, but the steward can't according to the wiki: