This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

GTX 1060 (6GB) or GTX 1070 for 1080p gaming?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. GTX 1060 (6GB) or GTX 1070 for 1080p gaming?

User Info: CT24

CT24
3 months ago#1
I will probably be getting a new computer relatively soon. I'm not good at building my own so I'm looking at some prebuilt sets.

Specifically for this thread I have a question about graphics cards:
I see myself for the foreseeable future gaming at 1080p and not likely going to 1440p or 4k. There are two prebuilt setups I'm looking at online. One has the GTX 1060 (w/6GB) and the other has the GTX 1070.

The one with the 1070 costs $100 more (other important aspects like RAM, SSD/HDD capacity, are equal). I've heard arguments that the 1070 is way overkill for 1080p gaming but I've also heard arguments that say a little future proofing is good and that the 1070 will last longer.

What do you think?

User Info: Masamune_DS

Masamune_DS
3 months ago#2
If it is only a $100 more and you can afford it, go with the 1070.
If a wizard turns me into Dawn then I would sooo touch myself every single night. ~ SoulGainDestiny

User Info: Thafranchise

Thafranchise
3 months ago#3
I have a 1070 and game at 1080p its not overkill as not all games are optimized well and having more power can help balance things out. If your prebuilt has the power supply and room enough to handle the 1070 get that.
The dream is dead

User Info: Boge

Boge
3 months ago#4
Are you buying a video card for today's games, or tomorrow's games as well? No video card will ever be overkill for tomorrow's games. Well, never say never. I hope one will be some day, but probably not for another 50+ years.
Hey, how come my two cents is only worth like a half a cent?