This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Clans in online (FPS) gaming. Do they still exist as they did 10+ years ago?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Clans in online (FPS) gaming. Do they still exist as they did 10+ years ago?

User Info: X Slayer007 X

X Slayer007 X
3 months ago#1
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but it's been on my mind for years.

Do clans still exist? I'm talking in the context of how things were when I started playing Medal of Honor Allied Assault over 15 years ago and progressed to the original Call of Duty, its expansion United Offensive, COD2, and lastly, COD4 Modern Warfare.

Back then there were dedicated servers that regular people would lease and usually these people would do it on behalf of their clan. The administrator could make whatever rules they wanted, switch the map rotation, and even add mods that were free for everyone....all you needed was to download something -usually from their website.

These clans had actual websites that were usually just a few pages, but everyone would use the forums. They were in that specific format (something to do with php Nuke? But I don't know...). The forums were fairly generic - general discussions, private forums for clan members only, recruitment application forums, and a few more miscellaneous ones. Nearly every clan had a forum like this.