This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Looking for a school laptop

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Looking for a school laptop

User Info: Loui5planks

Loui5planks
3 months ago#1
I already have a laptop but haven't used it since I built my desktop. Just booted it up today and it took >1min lol. I'm a freshman going for a Computer Science major.

I'm not 100% on buying a new laptop but if it comes down to me really needing to buy one, what would you recommend?

Things that should be on it (unless you recommend otherwise):
- SSD only ( >256gb, don't want those long ass boot times)
- Relatively slim
- 14inch (unless you recommend otherwise)
- >8gb of ram
- Be able to run LoL, although I can forgo this last one
Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 3 | Core i7-6700k | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 | MSI GTX 1080 FE | NZXT. S340 Razer Edition

User Info: JKatarn

JKatarn
3 months ago#2
If you're going for a Computer Science major, you're definitely going to want a newer laptop with a decent CPU, RAM and HD space. If you were a CAD etc. major I would say get a decent GPU, but for computer science that shouldn't be an issue, and any recent integrated GPU should handle LoL just fine.
Asus P8Z68-V LE | Core i7 2600K | 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 | EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
PS3 | PS2 | PSP| Wii-U | 3DS | DS | X-Box 360 | X-Box | NES

Loui5planks
3 months ago#3
JKatarn posted...
If you're going for a Computer Science major, you're definitely going to want a newer laptop with a decent CPU, RAM and HD space. If you were a CAD etc. major I would say get a decent GPU, but for computer science that shouldn't be an issue, and any recent integrated GPU should handle LoL just fine.