This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Raspberries and input lag

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Raspberries and input lag

User Info: Gatchan

Gatchan
1 month ago#1
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the PC board, so please be kind if this topic seems out of place or redundant. I've searched but couldn't find a direct answer to this:
I had a first hand experience with a raspberry (pi3 with Retropie, iirc) at a friend's. Everything we tested up to N64 worked like a charm, except for the horrid input lag on NES and SNES games. I read a bunch of stuff about it and get the probable reasons why. We searched for a game mode on his flat screen but found none. The lag is a good third of, maybe half a second! SMB is downright unplayable in these conditions.
So my concern is, I wanted such a raspberry for myself. Unfortunately, my flat screen has no game mode either and I noticed similar input lag when connecting the original NES and SNES to it (I'm from Switzerland, so everything I use is PAL, should it matter).
I also own a CRT: Sony KX-20ps1 with a BNC port (adaptor allows me to connect a yellow cinch for video) and a faulty SCART that could only display video coming from a Japanese SNES… The issue is common on this CRT, I gathered, so let's stick with me having a crappy yet functional video cinch.