This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Would greatly appreciate information on this FPS/ overheating question

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Would greatly appreciate information on this FPS/ overheating question

User Info: the9OO

the9OO
4 weeks ago#1
Hi Guys,

I'm really new to PC components and would really appreciate some advise from the experts here.

Just bought a new PC the past weekend and these are my specs:

i7-8700k
1080ti (not going to overclock it no matter what. don't want to risk anything)
32gb ram
PG279Q (g-sync, 144hz up to 160hz)

But I'm not sure what settings should I configure my monitor and GPU to.

I'm mostly worried about my GPU & CPU overheating and burning out.

My question is, should I set a cap on my FPS? Like my monitor is able to go up to 160hz. Should I enable those settings? Can someone explain to me how will it work with G-SYNC enabled too?

I downloaded MSI afterburner to check out temperatures of my GPU as I'm really paranoid about it and noticed it went up to 70 degrees while playing Destiny 2 for a short while. (No idea why it didn't display in game but when I alt-tab, I saw the graph hit 70 at one point and hovered around 60 degrees most of the time).

Currently I only have my monitor refresh rate set at 150 and not sure if it's safe to push it to 160. And also, I read that the FPS can only be as much as the monitor's refresh rate? Using Destiny 2's in game FPS counter, it showed 200 FPS. I'm not sure if that is making my GPU working harder than it is supposed to.