This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Planning on doing some big upgrades to my computer. Could use advice.

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Planning on doing some big upgrades to my computer. Could use advice.

User Info: sajt007

sajt007
2 weeks ago#1
Besides my graphics card and ram, I have been using the same components for 8 years and figured it is time to do a big upgrade. My current specs are:

i7 920 @ 2.66 GHz

16 gig DDR3 RAM

Nvidia geforce gtx 970

MSI MSI X58 PLATINUM SLI(MS-7522)

650W PSU
the one and only crazysnake
GT: calcalcal PSN: crazysnake007

User Info: TylerJ

TylerJ
2 weeks ago#2
Are you looking for a whole system refresh, or a cost effective upgrade?

And, besides gaming, are you doing any intensive productivity like video editing or file conversions?

Ultimately whichever way you go, at a minimum you're looking at a new motherboard, CPU and RAM.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wScxZaWyL9A

User Info: johnny_pay

johnny_pay
2 weeks ago#3
Know that a new CPU means new motherboard means new ram and that s*** is costly.

User Info: Renraku_San

Renraku_San
2 weeks ago#4
TC needs an entirely new system - from scratch. 970 ain't s*** nowadays. Nothing is reusable from that setup.
I worship Jesus Christ and am 100% proud to be Christian!
I read the Bible every day, you should too!

User Info: JKatarn

JKatarn
2 weeks ago#5
johnny_pay posted...
Know that a new CPU means new motherboard means new ram and that s*** is costly.

This - I would honestly wait a while to upgrade TC. RAM/GPU prices are pretty insanely inflated at the moment, hopefully they will drop and stabilize in the coming year.
Asus P8Z68-V LE | Core i7 2600K | 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 | EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB