Losing interest in Pokemon?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Nintendo 3DS
  3. Losing interest in Pokemon?

User Info: GeneralVan

GeneralVan
3 weeks ago#1
I really hope this isn't the case. So a little backstory about me, I LOVE Pokemon. Ever since I was 7 and getting lost in Sabrina's gym I was loving every second of the game. However, after Sun and Moon and the overpriced DLC known as Ultra Sun and Moon, I feel bored. Like I want something new from Pokemon. Ever since I beat ORAS I started playing games like Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy, Shin Megami Tensei, Fire Emblem, Shadow Hearts, Stella Glow, and Etrian Odyssey and I'm not sure why, but ever since I played those games my hype for Pokemon has dwindled. Especially after I beat Sun I really didn't feel like touching it again.
I got Ultra Sun but find myself unable to finish it because it's just the same thing as Sun with a few new bells and whistles. Even the ultra cool Z-moves and Rainbow Rocket (nostalgia bait imo) just leaves me unimpressed. And I feel bad because I have such a huge history with the series.

Could it be that maybe Alola just isn't the region for me? Tbh I didn't enjoy it as much as RSE, ORAS, XY, BW2, etc. Also it doesn't help that the new wild Pokemon and trainer battle themes in USUM suck imo.

So am I losing interest in Pokemon or is it just Alola not being my cup of tea?

User Info: Mega_Gardevoir

Mega_Gardevoir
3 weeks ago#2
You played versions like Yellow, Crystal, Emerald and Platinum right? Those were technically the same as USUM, except some say with even less changes than what USUM did.