hide results

    FAQ by PublicDomain

    Version: 1.0 | Updated: 12/06/07 | Search Guide | Bookmark Guide

    Igo Meikan
    (Go Directory)
    NES 1990
    Version: 1.0
    Note: This guide uses Shift-JIS to display Japanese characters, switch to this
          encoding to read them properly.
    Get the game going with the A button or START.
    The Main Menu has four options:
    1. Watch Mode (1) Automatic
    2. Watch Mode (2) Manual
    3. Pick Correctly Mode (1) 5 Choices
    4. Pick Correctly Mode (2) No Help
    Speed: 1-5 (Slow-Fast). Only asked for the Watch Mode.
    * Watch Mode (1) Automatic:
    Plays the match without waiting for a command. Press A to pause, pressing it
    twice quickly speeds up the moves a little if you are playing slowly. Press B
    for the in-game menu:
    - このまま つづける (Continue)
    - はやおくり (Fast Forward - to a certain move, confirm with はい or reject
      with いいえ.
    - スピードをかえる (Speed Change, from 1-5 like before starting the game)
    - 中止する (Stop) -> おれる (Quit) or もういちど はじめから (Restart from the
    * Watch Mode (2) Manual:
    Plays one move and then waits for you to press A.  The in-game menu:
    - このまま つづける (Continue)
    - スピードをかえる (Speed Change, from 1-5 like before starting the game)
    - 中止する (Stop) -> おれる (Quit) or もういちど はじめから (Restart from the
    * Pick Correctly Mode:
    The third mode asks you to pick the best move for the current situation
    anywhere on the field. The fourth mode will give you up to 5 possible locations
    on the grid to narrow down the choices. Pick くろ (Black) or 白 (White) to play
    that side and the game will start a few moves as it says in the text box.
    Select a position on the grid (if you play with help there are pink circles)
    and press the A button to place a piece. If it is wrong, the game will play the
    correct one instead. Press B to stop the game, it will ask if you want if you
    really want to quit so confirm with はい or reject with いいえ.
    Blue boxes at the top left and right are the players for white and black. They
    have ranks, one being the Challenger (挑戦者) and one just a ranked player.
    Underneath the player is the handicap he or she is using, if applicable. The
    red box is the game number, which doesn't really affect anything. The small
    pots are the pieces that were removed during play for each player at their
    side. The main grid is, of course, the Go board, and the small text box at the
    bottom is for messages and other important information such as commentary.
    The game splits the matches into ranks for the players. There are seven ranks
    in this game:
    A 棋聖
    B 名人
    C 本因坊
    D 十段
    E 天元
    F 王座
    G 碁聖
    H 話題局 (Theme Match)
    挑戦者 is the Challenger in that game.
    A 1 武宮 小林 2 小林 武宮 3 武宮 小林 4 小林 武宮 5 武宮 小林
    B 1 小林 加藤 2 加藤 小林 3 小林 加藤 4 加藤 小林 5 小林 加藤
    C 1 大竹 武宮 2 武宮 大竹 3 大竹 武宮 4 武宮 大竹 5 大竹 武宮 6 武宮 大竹
                                                                        7 大竹 武宮
    D 1 加藤 趙 2 趙 加藤 3 加藤 趙 4 趙 加藤 5 趙 加藤
    E 1 趙 苑田 2 3 趙 苑田 4 苑田 趙 5 趙 苑田
    F 1 加藤 武宮 2 武宮 加藤 3 加藤 武宮
    G 1 加藤 小林 2 小林 加藤 3 加藤 小林
    H 1 石田 安田 2 王 林 3 小林 陳 4 小松 大竹 5 曲 橋本 6 堀田 中野 7 林 安倍
    This guide is available for and to anyone who wishes to use the information on
    their site or in their own guide. Remember this was posted on GameFAQs first if
    you want to copy and credit anything.

    View in: