Detailed Reviews

Review Title Posted Author Rating
The pinnacle of modern storytelling - 2 year anniversary review (spoilers - updated) 07/19/10 aksolid
This. Is. Living. 06/23/08 ChateauNoir
There's no need for a witty tagline on this one 06/19/08 CrimsonGear80
Metal Gear Messup 07/21/08 dkolb87
Metal Gear Sermon (This is not a worthy succesor to Metal Gear Solid 3) 06/27/08 Kiron216
The Pinnacle of MGS Gameplay, Plagued By Inconsistent Design That Has the Bulk of the Gameplay in Act 1 and 2, and Bulk of the Cutscenes In Acts 3-5 06/23/08 Sanjuro2
I want to like it more but MGS4 seems to do everything it can to be irritating despite it's good points 06/23/08 TheAm4zingLarry
An Unmissable Story, An Unmissable Game 06/24/08 xDarksidegohanx
A great ending to the MGS series 09/02/08 BlackbeltB
A supposedly fun thing I'll never do again 09/14/09 bluej33
A remarkable combination of deep gameplay, captivating narrative, memorable bosses and prime audio-visual presentation. 06/01/10 bruno_fmenedes
A fitting close to Solid Snake's legendary tale. 03/22/10 CChan
Not flawless, but undoubtedly a masterpiece. 09/15/08 chelseaboy12
They don't make games like they used to. This is one exception. 06/24/08 Cremdogz
A superb end to one of videogame's greatest characters. 06/23/08 Crofty
The only possible thing that could keep you from enjoying this game is if you have an intolerance for the frequent cutscenes. 07/01/08 D E E G S
Awe Inspiring. Ecstatic. Orgasmic. Beatiful. Hardcore. Astounding. All In One. 07/12/08 D-Camo
Metal Gear Solid 4: The Last One, Definitely This Time 06/29/10 David Newton
This is a good game, but Metal Gear Solid 3 was the best one of them all. 09/25/08 DavidFath
Carry on, my wayward son... 05/19/09 discoinferno84
All good things must come to an end 01/04/13 Donald Love 87
The Long and Winding Road. 04/07/10 Edge578
A Metal Gear masterpiece. 07/07/08 Evil Dave
After beating Metal Gear Solid 4, I came to this conclusion: Needs more cut-scenes. 09/25/08 Exodist
The final explosive chapter in the Metal Gear Solid legend 06/30/08 EZ_Company
Crab...battle 11/09/10 horror_spooky
Is Solid Snake's swan song music to our ears? 06/29/08 Lemmerman
War has changed. You will too. 06/20/08 Lsnake
Heaps of wasted potential, but still fantastic. 07/10/08 Mad_Ogre
MGS4: Cringe-worthy melodrama at its finest! 08/25/08 Malapropism
War has changed. 02/12/14 nastynate3118
MGS3 > MGS1 > MGS4 > MGS2 09/10/10 neonreaper
The best game a PS3 gamer will ever own 05/17/12 nwowwe723
Everything wrong about the MGS series in one single product 03/02/16 Ofisil
It's a game that's like a movie, and a blast for fans and newcomers alike. 06/19/08 Rune
MGS 4 is like a quirky movie with interactive segments. 06/25/08 T0by_the_great
This is good, isn't it? ...Wait, is it? 02/16/10 Tarrun
An Excellent MGS game that wraps up the series . 12/23/08 TheLastAvatar05
Now THIS is how you close out a series. 03/29/11 UltimaterializerX
Why Don't you take a Break? You've been playing for move than 5 hours....... 06/23/08 ZeroSkerbo
Please don't give us a MGS5, this is the perfect ending for the series! 05/11/09 Zylo the wolf

Full Reviews

Review Title Posted Author Rating
The legend, The epic, The spoiler free review 06/17/08 cbt711
More a interactive movie than a game 06/19/08 CoolCatFish34
CG "B" Movie with a short good game thrown in 06/16/08 lonewolf2877
I'm saying wow, but not in a good way 06/18/08 Zipp_Dementia
The Best Game of this generation. 07/09/09 ar15killa
Hideo Kojima contends that videogames are not art. This review disagrees. 09/02/08 Axel7174
An epic conclusion to one of the best franchises of all time 09/08/08 BlackDoomShadow
Solid Snake's Last Episode 10/01/09 Boni Boy Blue
They truly were saving the best for last... 04/28/09 cj2021
A Solid finale to a great series, but does it do it justice? 06/16/08 daemonx3
Takes you for a roller coaster ride, and leaves you begging for more 06/17/08 Dave521
Solid Game, Liquid Consistency 06/16/08 EBwizDX
Metal Gear Fan-Service 4 (or Creative Suicide for Dummies) 02/09/15 El_Nombre
In his final battle, our Hero stands alone! 03/19/10 EpicKingdom_
I am a hero, always is, always will be 03/24/10 Ethenia
A Memorable Sendoff for a Legendary Hero 06/17/08 Final Eclipse
Uh... Is There A Game Here? 06/30/08 Gestapoid
A mature improvement on the last two games by far. 06/19/08 Gixah
MGS4 a truely Oscar game achievement 06/18/08 GMFarmer
Metal Gear Solid IV is the final chapter for Snake and his crew. 06/25/08 gtr06
Moar Liek "Metal Gear Kickass 4: Guns of the Awesome" Amirite? 04/27/09 Haz4rd
Welcome to the Twilight Zone. 05/14/15 iammostacrook
"This...is my final (and finest) mission." 06/17/08 Kayia
Solid Snake's final mission... 06/16/08 KGB_USSR
An impressive bridge between oldschool and modern gaming. 04/13/17 Modranto
Seriously Kojima? This is the best you could do? 08/13/10 no2morro
This game is basically crazy good!!! 06/19/08 Ocelot529
Everything we wanted, just not at all in the way we expected 06/19/08 originalvoice
MGS 4 has become the seventh 'perfect' game in my collection, with a catch, that I've played in the last 29 years. 01/19/10 Starving Poet
One purely for the fanboys 07/08/09 tyran55
Achievement in every way 12/18/08 WrinklePump
Movie? Game? Answer: An Experience PS3 Owners Need 02/15/13 Xodyak

Quick Reviews

Review Title Posted Author Rating
Solid Snake's final mission. Does it live up to hype? 06/13/08 Freakwave003
Simply amazing... 06/16/08 Killer_Haseo
Guns of the Patriots is absolutely flawless! 06/16/08 1gabriel
Don't listen to the nay-sayers, this game is AWESOME. 06/16/08 8Nicholas8
Metal gear Awesome! 06/23/09 akizzle83
I have no words left... 01/21/09 antunesaa
Amazingly detailed both through graphics and storyline! 07/28/08 AznPride808
MGS4's storyline can stand toe-to-toe to an Oscar-winning movie with an amzingly versatile gameplay. 07/27/09 BabblingGamer
Simply the Best. 07/29/08 blahblahmanzor
A perfect finale....... 06/16/08 bugkill1sf
A disappointment. 09/15/08 Bymyteh
Courage is Solid!! (Spoiler-Free) 06/18/08 cheeseface_1234
Metal Gear series goes out on a very high note 06/30/08 chuckwaters1
The Long Awaited MGS4 Is here... 06/16/08 Crimson_Merc
MGS4 and MGO... Does it live up? 06/13/08 CrimsonStriderX
Good thing I didn't buy into all the hype... 06/16/08 crs420
A great end to probably one of the most innovative series of all time 06/23/08 Darkcloud223
Metal Gear Solid 4 is the best game that the PS3 has to offer. 07/09/09 el_rika
The Definitive Playstation 3 Exclusive 07/23/08 Fadesofblack
The Best Game I Have EVER PLAYED!!!! 06/20/08 fredfredburger9
An Incredible game you will not be willing to miss. 06/26/08 game_break
Back story tribute in Kojima's final mgs (final in the timeline) 07/09/09 godsolidus83
Metal Gear Torpid: Guns Of The Tedious 09/20/10 Grammarazi
PS3 Seller 06/26/08 gryphenix
A tragedy that rivals Macbeth and Romeo & Juliet 08/12/09 HEATH_the_JOKER
Metal Gear Solid 4 - A review 04/12/10 HristoSK9
Fans will rejoice, but newcomers to the series will have trouble. 06/24/08 hyruledood64
An Amazingly Epic Conclusion 06/16/08 Iamyourboo2
Amzing game w/ awesome graphics! 08/04/08 IronZell
Solid gameplay, just some issues with flow that keep it from being outstanding... 06/13/08 Kiddythe1
BROTHER ! ITS NOT OVER ! NOT YET !!! 06/17/08 Kreepshow
The closest anyone can get to gaming perfection in any generation. 07/06/09 leak_man
Metal Gear Solid 4 offers the best single player experience ever made in videogames 07/07/08 lordshodan
Stunning Story offsets Deja Vu Gameplay 06/13/08 MattFrey
Gaming Perfection(SPOILER FREE) 06/16/08 Megathorn22
My God, Hideo. Who are you? 06/16/08 Mesiarp
Best game ever 08/05/08 metalgear-s
Not the best in the series. 06/16/08 Nafzger
A glorious final mission for Snake 06/16/08 Nev
This is beyond being a game, a movie, an experience. This is Snake. 07/01/08 nknknnk
A Very Flawed Very Good Game 10/27/08 Oceans46
Konami does it again with a masterpiece for the ages 03/25/09 omegajustice
Snake makes his grand exit in MGS4, and it lives up to the rest of the series. 06/16/08 osirisbunnyfoo
[REVIEW] Push Select Button 08/31/10 OuendanCyrus
Without doubt the GREATEST GAME of ALL time !!! 06/16/08 OverlordCIass
ACTIVATE IT!!! 06/23/08 Pur3evil666
The epic saga ends in an epic way 02/19/10 raduuu30
The Final Showdown 10/13/08 Ryosal
This game deserves more than a 4/10. 06/16/08 slyfox124
Pretty Good Coming From a MGS Fan 01/13/10 Smileytin
MGS the greatest story ever told 06/16/08 SolidGTA06
This game is definetely worth it. 10/17/08 SoraOwnsAll
MGS4 is not the best....but almost. 08/20/08 SUICUNEMASTER
A soild game full of substance with the right amount of gear 06/16/08 supermanseatgrab
A Classic From Kojima (Again) 03/12/15 The_Boss
Dedicated to Hideo Kojima, you reminded me why I love video games so much 01/23/09 ThePhoenixFlame
Metal Gear Solid 4...worth buying a Playstation 3 for? 06/16/08 ThomasClancy
SPOILERS* this is possibly the greatest game ever created 06/17/08 threadysparrow
Another outstanding experience from Kojima Productions 06/16/08 TopherAU
Great game with far too many boring cut scenes 06/19/08 Ventrion366
A truly remarkable game that every PS3 owner should own 06/16/08 Virtual_Console
The Game Rocks. 06/16/08 X_PS_X
Excellent ending to the storyline with great gameplay capabilities. 07/01/08 XxTimetokillxX

Got Your Own Opinion?

Submit a review and let your voice be heard.